Start | The List | Tentative | Timeline | Connections | Community | Missing | Forum | Map | Blog | About

Sub-Antarctic Islands

Sub-Antarctic Islands
The New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands
consists of the five southernmost groups of the New Zealand Outlying Islands. Most of the islands are located near the southernmost edge of the largely submerged continent centred on New Zealand called Zealandia. It sank after rifting away from Australia 60-85 million years ago and from Antarctica between 130 and 85 million years ago. It is 3,500,000 km2 in area, almost half the size of Australia and is unusually long and narrow.

The islands are:
- Antipodes Islands
- Auckland Islands
- Bounty Islands
- Campbell Island group
- The Snares


Have you been to New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands ? Share your experiences!

Add your own review

Site info

New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands
Country: New Zealand
Inscribed: 1998
Natural Heritage
Criteria:  (9) (10)
Category: Natural landscape, Insular

Site history:
1998 Inscribed
Reasons for inscription

Site links

Official website:
»Department of Conservation

In the news:
Not available

Related links:
» Subantarctic Islands Research Strategy.
» SubAntarctic - an educational resource.

Related Forum posts:
Not available

Getting there

This WHS has 5 location(s).


"Threatened" by Infestation of Rats .
Antarctic Floristic Kingdom . Endemic Bird Species . Icebergs . Notable examples of island gigantism . Peat . Penguins . Seals . Tundra .
Antipodes points . Dependent territories . Formerly inhabited islands . Pacific Ocean . Polynesia . Southernmost . Uninhabited islands . Volcanic plugs .
Slavery .
Human Activity
Seal Hunting .
Individual People
William Bligh .
Miocene .
Furthest distance apart . Patrimonito's World Heritage Adventures . Takes more than 5 days to visit .
WHS on Other Lists
Biodiversity hotspot .

© WHS 1997-2016